Chatbots Magazine Become a Writer Intro to Chatbots

Bot prototyping & design tools?

As a conversation designer I spend a load of time prototyping interactions and trying to manage scripts and I haven’t found a set of tools that let me do this quickly and easily.

Is anyone building tools that are just focussed on making it easier to design bots rather than a whole platform?

3 Likes

When you say prototyping, do you just mean designing the if/than’s of the bot/human conversation? We’ve (lifecycle) built a very simple “when a user says this, the bot says this” with some NLP. Is that what you mean?

2 Likes

hey @steffan this is a tool that you guys created?

Hey @nei.fda! Yep. Currently in MVP mode.

Nice!!! Just join the waitlist to give it a try :grin:

Cool! Sending your invite now :slight_smile:

1 Like

I have tried botsociety.io to create prototype. It is very convenient and fastest way to show conversation. No technical knowledge required.

3 Likes

Hi @tom, are you talking about a form of chatbot specific mind mapping software? For mainly creative, planning structures etc.

I’m interested to know how bot writers are planning and structuring their conversations, and what tools would make it easier (or what you would like to see).

Although it’s not necessarily a bot-specific tool, we’ve used twinery.org for mapping out all of the potential decision trees a user could head down. Works great for e-commerce bots, specifically :slight_smile:

Hey @steffan, I’m thinking more about how multiple flows connect together - how to take the user through an entire conversation rather than just question and response. @brian I’ve used Twine a fair amount but it doesn’t output in a way that reflects the actual bot experience, it’s also a pain once you start getting into multiple scripts and revisions.

@keyul - looks useful for showing stakeholders a specfic interaction but I don’t know if this really helps with the bot design process itself.